When the public library is a non starter even for me

I was reading this (guardian not here) so i thought i would entertain you all with a tale.

It started with me trying to sort a data table by geolocation [not that hard], which eventually after a bit of googling got me to python which is not a reptile but a language which i am not that too clued up on.

I like new (to me) stuff and while i might have used perl before i decided to see if there where any library books – after all  i doubt they would have any perl books

I look stuff up, there is one children’s book with a brief mention of it* within a book on robots contained within a population of several million humans.

So being the zoo has  internet i give on the public library and fiddle to create a basic script which fixes my problem of which i am happy with.

millsandboonI also requested that the library system get some updated subject books in another area recently (i had to visit in person) and eventually they came.  One (both not of my choice)  was ok the other was written by a crook however it beat the 2001 for dummies version that was obsolete.

Mills and Boon is there level.

So next time your wondering why people dont use the library it is because i and they don’t read mills and boon romance novels who the civil servants n charge  seem very willing to buy in bulk romance novels.

In another example i was looking for another technical book in a different langauge and found one copy of it.  Unfortunately the person who had it was not returning it, so once again i i hunted on the internet and found something to get me started . I would buy a book if i knew a good one to buy but i don’t know.

Karen Bradley ignorant fool

Karen Bradley ignorant fool

So next time some govenment person – meet Karen says they want a modern library remember that one childrens book about robots and an book kept by a keptomatic must mean there doing something right after all one person in a million plus demographic benefited.

*i imagine basic.